It’s understood that you’re entitled to specific rights when confronted by law enforcement in Alabama for any reason, including DUI – but do you know your rights when it comes to breathalyzer or chemical testing? In Alabama, if you’re caught driving with a BAC (blood alcohol content) exceeding 0.08% – you will be charged with DUI. Law enforcement could attempt to prove that you were driving under the influence by administering a breath, blood, or urine test. These tests are typically performed after you’ve been arrested and taken to a jail or medical facility.
Under the Implied Consent law in the state of Alabama, if you refuse the ”jailhouse” chemical BAC testing or if you blow 0.08% or higher – the state will suspend your driver’s license automatically for a minimum of 90 days. This does not mean you are guilty of DUI. In fact, this is a totally separate issue from your criminal charges. A first time DUI offense can result in the loss of a license for up to 1 year, jail time, a permanent DUI charge on your record, and up to $2,100 in fines. Penalties for a 2nd, 3rd or more DUI convictions are increasingly severe.
Have you or a loved one been accused of DUI? Schedule a free consultation with a dui lawyer from our team. We have decades of experience handling thousands of cases similar to yours. Our team will work for you, challenging the incriminating evidence brought against you – including breathalyzer test results and witness testimonies. To schedule a free consultation with an attorney – call (256) 539-4464 or completing a case evaluation form online. Office locations in Athens and Huntsville, Alabama that are available to you 24/7.
For more – see our recent QA video: What should I do if I’m arrested for DUI? In this short video – DUI attorney Russell Crumbley explains which steps to take in the event that you’ve been arrested for DUI.
Still have questions? Schedule a consultation with a lawyer from our team today by calling or completing an online form
English (256) 539-4464
Spanish (256) 596-8017